Dorchester 01305 251632
Weymouth 01305 784197

Paige Edwards

Student Veterinary Nurse

Paige Edwards - Student Veterinary Nurse
Paige Edwards SVN Student Veterinary Nurse

What is your position within the surgery?

I am a student veterinary nurse (SVN)

What are your personal origins – how did you come to reside in your current location?

I have lived in Dorset my entire life. It’s a beautiful part of the world, I’m very lucky to live here.

Why do you want to become a veterinary nurse?

I have loved animals my entire life and I believe their care is very important. Being able to help animals in a nursing capacity means a lot to me.

What did your journey to become a student veterinary nurse entail?

I am currently attaining my diploma in Veterinary Nursing at Lynwood School of Veterinary Nursing (LSVN). This apprenticeship is well-suited to me as I get a lot of hands-on experience at work while also attending college once a week.

I have previously had work experience at a boarding kennels and cattery. I also attended Kingston Maurward College and gained a level 3 diploma in animal management. I started at Dave Cumber Vets in 2019 as a clinical cleaner and have been there ever since.

What do you actually do as a student veterinary nurse?

There are a mixture of roles and responsibilities each week, no two days are the same. I can monitor anaesthetics, nurse inpatients, organise day cases, perform lab work, clean clinical areas and kennels, take blood samples and place intravenous catheters all in a few days! Teamwork is key in this environment and I am very lucky to work with such amazing people. I get a lot of support from my peers, especially from my clinical coach!

Tell us about your pets. What are their names, ages, histories and personalities?

I have a 6 year old Jack Russell X Staffy called Patch. He came to DCV one evening as a “stray” and I immediately fell in love! I contacted the RSPCA centre as soon as I could and soon enough he was home. He has been with me ever since. He is absolutely bonkers but is also the most cuddly dog you will ever meet. Im very lucky to have him in my life.

I also have a family dog called Buff! He is a 7 year old pug and is my mum’s favourite child. He is sucha loving dog with a stellar personality!

What are your personal interests and achievements?

I enjoy crochet although I’m not very good at it (at most I can make a big blanket, but it will take me about two years!) but I also enjoy drag! Whether it’s attending a show or trying to rhinestone an outfit myself, I love it all!

I have started to roller skate this year, it’s so much fun! I would definitely recommend it. As someone who doesn’t enjoy exercise it is a lovely, low impact (depending how many times you fall over) way to burn a few calories! I love just listening to music and skating around; you meet some wonderful people too!