Dorchester 01305 251632
Weymouth 01305 784197

Emma Dowler

Night Veterinary Nurse

Emma Dowler
Emma Dowler RVN Night Veterinary Nurse

Currently I hold the role of one of three Emergency and critical care nurses (affectionally known as 'night nurses'), and I hold a nursing certificate in in Emergency and Critical Care.

Having graduated from the University of Worcester in 2005 with a BSc in Animal Care Science, I then started working for the Sealife Aquarium chain, effecting a move to Weymouth from Birmingham in 2010 due to my career development. I found the most interesting and rewarding part of being an aquarist was in the Health and Welfare, and hence after a number of years, I decided to focus my interests further and pursue a career in Veterinary Nursing. I felt this would provide the perfect opportunity not only to care for animals, but also aid in the recovery and prevention of health problems, animal welfare and give me the great potential for learning and skill development.

I trained partly at Lynwood Veterinary group in Wareham, and ended up finishing my diploma in Veterinary nursing at Dave Cumber vets, qualifying in 2014. A couple of years later I decided to start my Nursing Certificate in Emergency and Critical Care as I had 

In 2016 I decided to do my NCert in ECC as I found this area most interesting and rewarding. In 2019 I applied for the position of night nurse here at DC vets so that I could really put my passion, interests and qualification to good use. I enjoy the variety of cases and the critical care nursing. My position really provides me with the opportunity to really feel like I make a difference to animal lives. I get so much job satisfaction being here OOH to provide clients and their pets with advice, emergency treatment or reassurance when they most need it.

I have two Sphynx cats Myrtle and Sybil. They are both naked (they are supposed to be this way!) and beautiful. I also have a marine fish aquarium at home that keeps me busy when I am not nursing!

Currently outside of work I love spending time with my little boy and I am learning the Polish language. When I do get time, my hobbies include scuba diving, travelling and volunteering with animal charity organisations and I hope to do more of these once my little boy is older.