Dorchester 01305 251632
Weymouth 01305 784197
Dorchester 01305 251632
Weymouth 01305 784197

Charlotte Evans

Trainee Veterinary Nurse

Charlotte Evans
Charlotte Evans Trainee Veterinary Nurse

What is your position within the surgery?

Student Veterinary Nurse

What are your personal origins – how did you come to reside in your current location?

Dorset born and bred! 

Why did you become a veterinary surgeon/ nurse? or What made you want to work in a veterinary practice (CCT)?

I have always had a passion for animals from a very young age. Having a job where I can care for animals as well as nurse them back to health is just the perfect job for me!

Where did you train to become a veterinary nurse and when?

I have been trained at Lynwood School of Veterinary Nursing whilst working in practice at Dave Cumber Vets, as they have provided me with my dream job opportunity! I started at Lynwood School September 2018 and finished my theory studying August 2020. I only have a small bit of online work and practical exams to undertake before becoming a qualified Veterinary Nurse.

What do you actually do as a veterinary nurse? What are your key interests or goals?

There are so many jobs as a Veterinary Nurse, it's not just cuddling puppies and kittens as many imagine! From managing the daily surgeries to monitoring critically ill patients, consult, blood taking and performing a variety of tasks in the laboratory! Personally, I love spending time in the laboratory, monitoring anaesthetics and surgical nursing, where I am able to directly assist the vet in theatre with an operation. 

What do you enjoy most about your job at the vets?

I enjoy the satisfaction of discharging a patient after they have had an intensive stay, and seeing dogs getting so excited to see their owners! To know that I have helped improve or even save a patients' life brings me the greatest job satisfaction. I also love when I am able to find answers in the lab by looking at samples under the microscope and finding the cause to your pets' problems!

Do you have any pets? What are their names, personalities, histories? Make this juicy, clients want to know about our four-legged friends too.

I have had various pets growing up including guinea pigs, chinchillas, and a Rankins dragon by the name of Ronnie. However, the only pet I have at the moment is my Roxy, an older Miniature Schnauzer. She still acts like a puppy and never accepts that she is an old lady now. She still loves to do zoomies in the garden, and spend summers laying in 'sun puddles' and loves winters in front of the fire. She is very spoilt as she gets to spend time with the grand-parents often, who are her favourite people in the world! 

What do you enjoy outside of work? What interests do you have?

I am really into keeping myself physically fit and active. My favourite method of exercise however is martial arts. I started Goju Ryu Karate at the age of 5, and achieved my 1st Dan black belt at age 14. I then had the opportunity to travel to Spain and got my 2nd Dan black belt in 2018. I also decided to take up a second martial art in weaponry called Ryukyu Kobudo Shimbukan. We use various weapons including the Bo, Nunchaku and Sai. I was then able to obtain my black belt in Kobudo aged 16. When I am not being a ninja in the dojo, I like to draw, paint and play video games.